Museum of Greek Folk Art (The Mosque)
The mosque is at the Monastiraki square, right at the centre of the old town of Athens. It was built in 1759 during the period that Greece was governed by the Turks. In 1915 was restored by Anastasias Orlandos. In 1959 the collection of the Greek Folk Museum was exhibited there. Later on the Folk Museum was transferred to new building. Today in the old mosque a collection of 800 vases and other objects made of clay of the 20th century, the collection of V. Kyriazopoulos is displayed.
The floor plan of the mosque is a simple square with a decorated conch at the east side. The mosque is covered by a big dome. The square is progressively transformed into an octagon and then to a circle in order to be united with the dome. The entrance is covered by a portico with arches and columns. Its roof is consisted of three smaller domes.
On the ground floor there samples, vases, mural tiles and figurines made by various known folk artists. Most of them are decorated by motifs which are also encountered in the weaving art of the same period. Some have religious themes.
On the second floor there are samples of anonymous artists from various areas of Greece.
The most interesting exhibit of the mosque museum is the mosque itself. The mosque is one of the very few remains and indications of the long period of the Turkish dominion of Greece. Here, there is a unique chance for the visitor to see and admire the architecture and the structure of mosque without the fear of disturbing the believers.